top of page

No, I really am a badass and other things I tell myself to combat imposter syndrome.

I have a group chat going with some very brilliant people I am blessed to call friends and every once in awhile one of us has an issue and we ask the collective for help.

Today's issue was Imposter Syndrome... (insert mystery dun dun dun sound effect)

An article in the Harvard Business Review "Stop telling women they have Imposter Syndrome" Authors by Ruchika Tulshyan and Jodi-Ann Burey say "Imposter syndrome is loosely defined as doubting your abilities and feeling like a fraud. It disproportionately affects high-achieving people, who find it difficult to accept their accomplishments. Many question whether they're deserving of accolades. In other words people who put value on their work often feel like they don't meet that standard, even if in reality they do.

So what does that have to do with a spiritual gangster like myself? Well for one thing even though you can get a reiki certification or a spiritual counselors certification, there really isn't a full governing body to say "You are deemed worthy of the work you are doing". Any Instagram or Twitter handle can start popping off with stuff and gain a billion followers and be called a guru, regardless of what they have "learned". People, like myself who have gone through programs, sat in circles, and done some heavy lifting academically through study of Religion and Spirituality are often just doing the mundane work of well, doing the work.

I know I'm good at it because my clients have succeeded in their pursuits, developed their own gifts, and found true joy in many cases. However, every once in a while a little bubble of self doubt tries to manifest itself into an imposter and say "hey, you ain't that great".

So, I go back to the places I find strength, my altar room, my family, my friends and I check in. I ask them, my trusted tribe of corporeal and non-corporeal peeps (and others), "hey, am I on the right track?" and 9/10 times I am. I don't try to crush my ego and downplay my strengths. I use them to the best of my ability to make things work better, to do better. I am terrible at math, I will never teach it to a wide audience and I am very comfortable telling people, "I do not do maths". There is no shame in it. I'm not good at it. But, you want some kick ass guac, or a pasta dinner that will send your ancestors to mine to thank them for the glory I gave to you, I'm your girl.

You're only an imposter if your balance is off. If your ego is too big to admit limits and you are too sure of yourself in every single situation ever presented...ever. If, though, you know you are an excellent singer and can cause grown folks to cry with your vibrato, SING! The key is knowing yourself and being yourself to the best you can.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page